Curry Cauliflower Soup For Those Cold Florida Nights

I’ve been on a major soup kick.

We’ve been having soup eating weather lately and no, I don’t live in the Northeast….I live in Florida. It’s been “Florida cold” and I think it’s all relative. When you’re used to warm, sunny weather and you’re suddenly hit with slightly cooler sunny weather, it’s just a shock to the system. I had to break out the hoodie…and the soup.

100_2766

I was inspired by the monster of a cauliflower I bought at the farmer’s market.

100_2764

That is a Tablespoon for size reference!

100_2786100_2787

The base of this soup is cauliflower that is pureed until silky smooth. Just boil it or steam it until soft. I used two cups of chopped florets. I blended it with my immersion blender and added enough water to get it going. I also blended in 1 Tablespoon of tahini.

100_2771

I’m still building up a spice cabinet in my new place and this was basically everything I have… except for the pumpkin pie spice.

I love Indian flavors and curries and heat so I have curry powder, turmeric, chili flakes, fennel seed, cumin and powdered ginger. I never measure my spices, I just go with the spicy flow.

100_2780

To get started I heated up a little coconut oil and added three chopped scallions and a handful of chopped kale.

100_2781

All the spices in.

100_2789

Creamy cauliflower/tahini puree in.

100_2790100_2791

A few cups of water until it reaches the consistency you like. I like it a little more loose so I added three cups.

100_2797

Let it simmer with a lid on for 10 minutes and it’s ready to go! I served mine over some spaghetti squash and topped it with my favorite coconut milk and some ground flax seed. Fancy 🙂

Leave a Reply

